71st Palanca awards 54 writers, 30 of them first-time winners

The Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature added 30 new names in its prestigious list of the most prolific Filipino writers, poets, and playwrights.

A total of 54 writers received awards in 20 writing categories in four divisions: Kabataan, English, Filipino, and Regional Languages. Literary luminaries handpicked from their fields evaluated the 1,405 contest entries submitted. The awarding was held at the Philippine International Convention Center as part of Palanca’s National Heritage Series.

Guest of honor and speaker was award-winning children’s author, columnist and radio host Dr. Luis P. Gatmaitan. Inducted into the Palanca Awards Hall of Fame in 2005, Dr. Gatmaitan expanded his profession as a physician to write children’s storybooks addressing sensitive issues such as disabilities, childhood ailments, and children’s rights, among others. He is currently the chairperson of the National Council for Children’s Television, which oversees the implementation of a child-friendly landscape in Philippine television. 

Winners of the 2023 Palanca Awards at the PICC.
Essay-3rd prize winner and The Post contributing writer Francine Medina Marquez

Adding to its multiple local and international accolades was the night’s Gawad Dangal ng Lahi, a special citation granted by the Palanca Awards to those who have contributed immensely to the development of Philippine literature and have aptly become role models for Filipinos.

Named after businessman and philanthropist Don Carlos Palanca Sr. and sponsored by the Carlos Palanca Foundation Inc., the Palanca Awards is the longest-running and most prestigious literary competition in the country. It upholds the tradition of extending incentives for writers to continuously cultivate Philippine literature. A Palanca medal or recognition is highly coveted in the Filipino writing community here and abroad.

Since 1951, the Palanca Awards has conferred medals and certificates to a total of 2,526 Filipino authors, 26 of which became Hall of Fame awardees for having five first prize-winning works. In championing literature, the Palanca Awards also serves as a treasury of our literary gems, currently holding a total of 2,617 winning works in its archives, spanning from 1951 to 2023.

Here is the list of the 71st Palanca Awards winners:

Kabataan Division

Kabataan Sanaysay
1st Prize: No winner
2nd Prize: Amancio A. Caponpon V (“Aranya sa Kisame”)
3rd Prize: Glorious Zavannah Exylin C. Alesna (“Sa Panahon ng Bagabag at Balisa: Paghagilap sa Pira-pirasong Retaso ng Hinahon at Pa(g)hinga”)

Kabataan Essay
1st Prize: Francis Roberto San Antonio Sevillena (“Living on play in a world on pause)
2nd Prize: Glorious Zahara Exylin C. Alesna (“The Bully is you”)
3rd Prize: Rheyn Khrieztine S. Dela Pena (“Five More Minutes, Please!)

Filipino Division

Maikling Kuwento
1st Prize: Peter Solis Nery (“Ang Tariktik”)
2nd Prize: Jay Jomar F. Quintos (“Buwaya”)
3rd Prize: Ella Jane G. Hermonio (“Boses Pusa”)

Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
1st Prize: Jaylord S. Losabia (“Si Toyo at si Suka”)
2nd Prize: Mikka Ann V. Cabangon (“Si Liya at ang Dapithapon sa Ilaya”)
3rd Prize: Iza Maria G. Reyes (“Babasagin, babasagin!”)

1st Prize: Kimberly Rose L. Pillo (“Kung Paanong Nagmukha akong Sponge sa harap ng mga Pinggan”)
2nd Prize: Al Joseph A. Lumen (“Auslander: Mga Danas sa Alemanya”)
3rd Prize: Edward Joseph Fernandez (“Ako ay si Ako nga”)

1st Prize: Mikael de Lara Co (“Epistolaryo ng Bagamundo at ang tugon ng Multo”)
2nd Prize: Rogelio dela Rosa Jr. (“Ang Hindi Maiwasang Patlang”)
3rd Prize: Ralph Lorenz G. Fonte, (“Ex Novo Mvndo”)

Tula Para Sa Mga Bata
1st Prize: Dexter B. Gragasin (“Tutula, Tutuli, Tutulo”)
2nd Prize: Genaro R. Gojo Cruz (“Ako, mga tulang pambata”)
3rd Prize: Keisiah Dawn T. Tiaoson (“Tugma ng Buhay kong Payak”)

Dulang May Isang Yugto
1st Prize: Eljay Castro Deldoc (“Ang Lipnayan ng ating mga Katawan”)
2nd Prize: Dan Ian Paulo B. Mariposque (“The Divine Family”)
3rd Prize: Dustin Edward D. Celestino (“Fermata”)

Dulang Ganap Ang Haba
1st Prize: Miguel Antonio Alfredo V. Luarca (“Nekropolis”)
2nd Prize: Christian R. Vallez (“Pingkian”)
3rd Prize: Joshua Lim So (“Atin ang Panahon”)

Dulang Pampelikula
1st Prize: Jonathan P. Jurilla (“Love Child”)
2nd Prize: Jimmy F. Flores (co-author) and Emmanuel Q. Palo (co-author) (“Elehiya”)
3rd Prize: Raymund T. Barcelon (“Beki Naman”)

Regional Division

Short Story-Cebuano
1st Prize: Neile Genica M. Sy (“Lenteng Pilokilay”)
2nd Prize: John Dante (“Ang Magsusulat Nga Haduol na sa Kamatayon”)
3rd Prize: CD Borden (“Alindasay”)

Short Story-Hiligaynon
1st Prize: Ritchie D. Pagunsan (“Kauhaw sa Tingadlaw”)
2nd Prize: Alvin Q. Larida (“Lola Violeta”)
3rd Prize: Serafin I. Plotria, Jr. (“Puno sang Aligotgot”)

Short Story-Ilokano
1st Prize: Rodolfo D. Agatep Jr. (“Diro Ti Disierto”)
2nd Prize: Jorge Richard P. Guerrero (“Idiay Langit, Awan Lanit”)
3rd Prize: Clarito De Francia (“Piglatan”)

English Division

Short Story
1st Prize: Exie Abola (“Vile Creatures”)
2nd Prize: Ian Rosales Casocot (“Don’t Follow Me, I Don’t Even Know Where I’m Going”)
3rd Prize: Katrina D. Torralba (“Amadito and Amanda”)

Short Story For Children
1st Prize: No winner
2nd Prize: Jonny Bernas Pornel (“The Legend of Ipot-ipot”)
3rd Prize: Elvie Victonette B. Razon-Gonzalez (“The Race to Uswag”)

1st Prize: Rio Renato Pulido Constantino (“The Year of the Periwinkle”)
2nd Prize: Russell Stanley Geronimo (“Profile of a Stateless Person: Notes on a Deportation Proceeding”)
3rd Prize: Francine M. Marquez (“Normalizing Survival”)

1st Prize: Patricia Mariya Shishikura (“Translating Wildfires”)
2nd Prize: Vince Raphael V. Agcaoili (“Carrying”)
3rd Prize: Michael Maniquiz (“Lou Reed Meets Delmore Schwartz at a Bar”)

Poetry Written For Children
1st Prize: John Patrick F. Solano (“Odd Numbers”)
2nd Prize: Ian Rosales Casocot (“Bisaya for all that we gugma”)
3rd Prize: Simone Marie Sales (“Paper Planes”)

One-Act Play
1st Prize: Randy Q. Villanueva (“Neneng”)
2nd Prize: Ian Rosales Casocot (“The Midsummer of Manuel Arguilla”)
3rd Prize: Rossielle Sarabia Manicad (“My Lover’s Presscon”)

Full-Length Play
1st Prize: Miguel Antonio Alfredo V. Luarca (“Dogsblood”)
2nd Prize: No winner
3rd Prize: No winner

The new lifestyle.